Sponsor - DAF

The Sir Moir Lockhead Safety Award is open to candidates in the areas of safety initiatives or innovation, safety invention or for safety leadership. Entries should clearly demonstrate professionalism in the prevention of safety incidents through their work to deliver tangible improvements in safety either within their company or within their industry.

To nominate yourself or another engineer, email: [email protected]

Open to all members of the SOE (excluding members of the Professional Sector Councils) and non-members.

Corporate Partners - DAF.jpg

Category Sponsor

DAF Trucks is the UK market leading manufacturer of commercial vehicles with products available from 7.5 tonnes GVW to 44 tonnes GCW and, for specialist haulage, right up to 150 tonnes GCW.

The DAF Range includes the LF which is available from 7.5 tonnes to 18 tonnes and is ideally suited to distribution applications where its exceptional manoeuvrability and easy cab access have helped to make it the most popular truck in its class.

The mid-range CF is versatile and suitable for wide range of applications. With 2, 3 and 4 axle rigid variants in numerous wheel plans as well as two and three axle tractor specifications the CF can be specified to suit operation in applications as diverse as distribution and refuse collection, and from construction to chilled goods.

The top of the range XF is designed for long distance and heavy transport where its spacious and comfortable cab is hard to beat. Drivers appreciate its practicality, clever storage and the quiet living and working environment.

To support DAF operators, DAF’s UK network of over 130 independent dealers provides a comprehensive range of services. DAF MultiSupport maintenance packages for cost management and peace of mind. PACCAR Parts provides parts for DAF and other makes of trucks and trailers. PACCAR Financial PLC offer financial solutions. DAF Dealers provide workshop services including DAFcheck on-line maintenance record keeping. DAFaid roadside assistance provides round the clock back-up in case of breakdown.

Read lessmore

Past winners

2021 Winner

Prof Dave Cooper Eur Ing, FSOE, FBES

2018 Winner

Peter Warner EngTech MSOE MIRTE
Award accepted by Matthew Parsons on behalf of Peter Warner.

2017 Winner

John Griffiths IEng MSOE MIPlantE

2017 Runners-up

Philip Harley IEng MSOE MIPlantE
Cheung Hoi Leong CEng FSOE FIPlantE

2017 Highly Commended

Adrian Simms CEng MSOE MIPlantE
Gary Thomas EngTech FSOE FIRTE LCGI
Mike Ponsonby MSOE MIPlantE MIRTE